No Comment

Create a Poster Inspired by the Movie “The Bourne Legacy” PART 1

Preview of Final Results

image

The Bourne Legacy Movie Poster Photoshop Tutorial


Tutorial Resources


Step 1

Start by opening the photo into Photoshop. To open an image, go to File > Open. If you’ll be using the same image we used, we recommend downloading the highest resolution image because we will be cropping it in the middle of the tutorial.
image

Step 2

Right-click on the layer then click Convert to Smart Object. This will convert the layer into a Smart Object which lets us manipulate the image non-destructively.
image

Step 3

Before we start, we’re going to add a black layer below the photo layer. To do this, go to Layer > New Fill Layer > Solid Color. Select black as the color then click OK.
image

Step 4

In the Layers palette (Window > Layers), drag the Color Fill layer to the bottom. Rename the top layer to Photo and bottom layer to Background. To rename a layer, double-click on the text of the layer you want to rename.
image

Step 5

To begin, we’ll add a gritty photo effect with adjustment layers and filters. Start by adding a Black & White adjustment layer (Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Black & White) then change the blending mode of this layer to Overlay. Feel free to play around with the settings in the Properties panel (Window > Properties). This is an easy way of adding a grungy lighting effect and you can try it with your other photos. image

Step 6

Next, add a Vibrance adjustment layer (Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Vibrance). Reduce vibrance setting until it just has a hint of color.
image
Here’s what our image looks like after reducing the vibrance setting. image

Step 7

The adjustment layers gave it a grungy lighting effect but it also hides the detail and makes the background even darker. We don’t want to the photo to be too dark because it can blend in with the black background and make the stripes not very visible. To fix this, we’re going to apply a Shadows/Highlights adjustment. In the Layers panel, select the Photo layer then go to Image > Adjustments > Shadows/Highlights. Set the shadows to around 35% and highlights to around 15% then click OK.
image
If you look in the Layers palette, you can see that the adjustment was applied as a Smart Filter. This is because in Step 2, we changed the layer into a Smart Object. The benefit of using Smart Filters is that you can change the settings at any time without undoing a bunch of steps.
image

Step 8

Next, we’re going to add some grain to the photo using the Add Noise filter – which will be applied as a Smart Filter just like the previous step. Make sure you have the Photo layer selected then go to Filter > Noise > Add Noise. Checkmark the Monochromatic option then adjust the settings so that you get an effect like shown in the image below. Click OK to add the noise.
image

Step 9

Next, we’re going to crop and rotate the image. Select the Crop tool (C) then in the options bar, disable the “Delete Cropped Pixel” option. This will let us uncrop or make adjustments to the crop at any time. image Crop the image like shown in the image below. We also rotated the image so that the eyes are more horizontally aligned. This is important because when we add the stripes, we want to ensure that the eyes are visible and don’t tilt off the top or bottom edge of the stripes.
image

Step 10

Now we’re going to add some text to the image. We’re doing this first so that we know where to place the stripes later. In the Layers palette, select the top layer so that when you add the text, they all appear above the top layer. Select the Text tool then add some text around the image with each line of text in their own layer. The font used below is Arial.
image

Step 11

Select all the text layers (hold CTRL to select multiple layers) then add them to a group (Layer > Group Layers or Ctrl+G). Rename the group to Text.
image

No Comment

Dramatic Photo-manipulation Tutorial by DreamiTouch

This tutorial will teach in fast and easy steps how to combine various elements and textures to design a dramatic and epic photo montage. Learn the basics on how to use the gradient tool and blending options to work the lighting and overall tones. Plus how to use light flares, smoke and water splash brushes. With simple steps learn how to obtain mind blowing effects.

Final result preview


Stock used

Step 1

Start off by opening the background image and the main model we will be using. (File > Open or Ctrl + O)
With the pen tool or other tool you prefer, remove the background of the main model image. Copy the clean model image and place her over the background image layer.(Ctrl + A, Ctrl + C, Ctrl + V) Name the model layer as ‘Model’.
For this tutorial we will be using the actual size of our original background image. (3888 x 4009 px)

Step 2

Place the ‘Model’ and re dimension her to fit the background properly. (Ctrl + T) After we have placed the model in the proper place, click twice on the model layer to change the Layer Style.
Set the ‘Model’ Layer Style as in the image Bellow. This will add a slight tone to match the overall background colors.

Step 3

On the model layer, click the add layer mask option and remove some of the bottom part of the boot. This will give a slight effect that the boot is partially underwater.
Now create a new layer above the model layer and name it ‘model shadow’ and set the blending mode to Soft Light.
With a large soft brush set at about 30% opacity and black color. Pass the brush starting at the model’s feet towards the bottom of the image. Go adding this shadow to simulate the soft shadow cast from the main model.

Step 4

Create a new layer (Layer > New > Layer or Shift + Ctrl + Alt + N) Place this layer in between the background and model layers. Name this layer ‘Fog’. Select a large soft white brush at 100% opacity. Make a large line across the background where the sky meets the water line.
Now go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur and set the Radius Blur to 125 pixels than press OK. This will blur our in a uniformed way the white line we added previously. You will notice the white line now had a fog aspect.

Step 5

Create a new layer (Layer > New > Layer or Shift + Ctrl + Alt + N) Place this layer in between the Model and Model Shadow layers. Name this layer ‘Water Splash’.
Select the water splash brush (662) at a large enough pixel size to cover each foot. Set the brush color to #c1e8ff at 100% opacity. Add the brush on each foot as in the image example.

Step 6

Create a new layer (Layer > New > Layer or Shift + Ctrl + Alt + N) Place this layer in between the Fog and Model layers. Name this layer ‘Rope’.
Select the rope .png image and duplicate it many times to make it long and thin. Place this long rope behind the Model figure. Select the Puppet warp tool (Edit > Puppet Warp) and shape the rope a little so it doesn’t look stiff and straight.

Step 7

Now click twice on the rope layer to open the Layer Style.
Set the layer styles as in the image example. For the Inner Shadow you will use the #000000 color and for the Inner Glow select the transparent gradient and set the color at #6093b2. This will add a 3D volume to the rope and also follow the overall image tones.

Step 8

Create a new layer (Layer > New > Layer or Shift + Ctrl + Alt + N) Place this layer above all layers. Name this layer ‘shoot flair’.
Open the light flair image and cut out the 3rd from top to bottom.
Place this light flair on the ‘shoot flair’ layer we have just created.
Re size the light flair to a larger scale. (Ctrl + T – free transform).
Set the blending mode of this layer to Screen.

Step 9

Following the same methods as in step 8 we will be adding more light flairs to the image.
You can name these as ‘Shot Flair 1’ (2, 3,…)
After you have added all the desired light flairs, you can group them all together (select all and press Ctrl + G) to avoid getting the layer pallet to busy and hard to mess around with.

Step 10

Create a new layer (Layer > New > Layer or Shift + Ctrl + Alt + N) Place this layer above all layers. Name this layer ‘Smoke’.
Select White 100% opacity smoke brush and apply it to the point of the gun.
Set the blending mode to ‘Overlay’

Step 11

If you don’t think the splashes on the women’s foot looks believable, you can add other effects to make the splash larger and more natural as if she had just jumped off a helicopter or something similar.
Create a new layer (Layer > New > Layer or Shift + Ctrl + Alt + N) Place this layer above Water Splash layer. Name this new layer ‘Water Splash 2’.
Open the image of the lollypop being shattered and cut out only the shattered bits.
Place this image in the layer we have just created and change the blending mode to Screen.
Erase parts of the lollypop that shouldn’t be in the image.
Do this with both feet.

Step 12

Create a new layer (Layer > New > Layer or Shift + Ctrl + Alt + N) Place this layer above Smoke Layer. Name this new layer ‘Fire.
Set the Blending mode of this layer to Screen.
Select the fire sparks image and apply it as in the position of the example image.

Step 13

Create a new layer (Layer > New > Layer or Shift + Ctrl + Alt + N) Place this layer above ‘Fire’. Name this new layer ‘Snow’.
Place the snow texture on the show layer and using the transform tool, stretch it out to fill the entire image. (Ctrl + T)
Now change the blending mode of this layer to Screen. This will eliminate the black and only leave the white dots.

Step 14

Now with the Snow layer selected, go to Filter > Blur > Motion Blur.
Set the Angle to 55 and Distance of 80 pixels.
We now have a snow that actually looks like it’s falling with motion and everything.
Note: you can reduce the layer opacity to about 50% if you think the snow is too strong.

Step 15

Create a new layer (Layer > New > Layer or Shift + Ctrl + Alt + N) Place this layer above ‘Snow’. Name this new layer ‘Blue Radial’.
Select the Gradient Tool (G), pick the Radial Option. Select the Transparent Gradient tool. The color we will be using is #006b6f.
Add this radial gradient to the overall image. (Center Transparent, borders #006b6f) Now change the blending mode to Multiply and lower the opacity to 50%.

Step 16

Go to the Adjustments Panel and select the Gradient Map. Set the gradient colors to #003d43 and #ff7c00. Now change the blending mode to Soft Light and reduce the Opacity to 50%.

Step 17

We are already on the final touches of the image.
To add a surreal and dramatic touch to the image, Select all the layers worked on until now, duplicate all layers, merge all the selected (only the ones we duplicated) layers.
You will now have the entire image on one single layer.
Now go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur and set the blur to 1,6 pixels than press ok. Change this layers blending mode to Lighten. Make sure this layer is above all the layers we have worked on until now. You can name this layer ‘Soft Blur’.
You can notice now that the white areas in the image are glowing. This also avoids overly sharp borders.